Vedder Price

Vedder Thinking | News Vedder Price Recognized in Airline Economics' Global Aviation 100 Deals of the Year 2023

Press Release

Reader View

Vedder Price is proud share its key involvement in two transactions listed on Airline Economics’ 100 Deals of the Year 2023 in Global Aviation. The list highlights the most impactful and strategic deals completed in the global aviation finance industry throughout the year of 2023. Vedder Price was recognized for its work in the following award-winning transactions.

Bank Financing Deal of the Year

The firm was awarded Bank Financing Deal of the Year for advising SKY Leasing LLC. The transaction included raising a new $1.2 billion debt warehouse facility to support the company’s latest aviation fund, SKY Fund VI. The fund is a continuation of the SKY Leasing’s investment program designed to help airlines modernize their fleets.

The Vedder Price team advising SKY Leasing included Global Transportation Finance Shareholders Raviv Surpin, Clay Thomas and Simone M. Riley of the Los Angeles office. With a strong working relationship, the firm has previously served in an advisory role to SKY Leasing in various transactions and finance opportunities. The Vedder team looks forward to assisting in the continued growth of SKY Leasing as a top marketplace solution.

Mergers & Acquisitions Finance Deal of the Year

Vedder Price was also awarded for its representation in the Mergers & Acquisitions Finance Deal of the Year. The firm represented Class A Lenders – Mizuho Bank, Ltd. and Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation – in a $920 million acquisition financing facility for affiliates of PK AirFinance and Apollo Global Management. The majority of the secured aviation loans within the approximately $920 million portfolio were acquired from Standard Chartered Bank.

Shareholders Jeffrey T. Veber and Clay C. Thomas, alongside Associate Alexandra M. Davidson, of the Global Transportation Finance practice group played a significant role in the success of the transaction.


Raviv Surpin


Clay C. Thomas


Simone M. Riley


Jeffrey T. Veber


Alexandra M. Davidson